Skip to content Skip to footer

2016 Nominees Announced for Live Music Industry Awards presented by El Mocambo

2016 Nominees Announced for Live Music Industry Awards presented by El Mocambo



CMW is Pleased to Announce the Nominees for the 1st Annual Live Music Industry Awards presented by El Mocambo



Canadian Music Week is proud to announce the nominees for the 1st annual Live Music Industry Awards. Over 100 outstanding individuals from across the Canadian music and live industries spanning over 20 categories will be honoured on Saturday, May 7 at The Sheraton Centre Hotel. The full list of nominees is below.

This celebratory brunch-style event will honour the acheivements of artists and individuals supporting music festivals, live music venues, artist agencies, music programs and more – both Canadian and international – including a special LEGENDS OF LIVE award to honour Canada’s own, Blue Rodeo.  The International Agent of the Year award will be awarded to the President of United Talent Agency’s Neil Warnock from the United Kingdom and SOCAN will honour a Canadian venue with the special first ever Licensed to Play award.   This year’s award show will be hosted by Damian Abraham of Fucked Up and Collective Concert’s Jeff Cohen.

The Live Music Industry Awards is created by Canadian Music Week in partnership with the International Festival Network (IFN) and Music Canada Live, and promises to be a memorable highlight of CMW’s Live Music Summit.  CMW would like to thank it’s sponsors Live Nation, Air Canada Centre, SiriusXM, Access Event Solutions, Stubhub, Medtech Wristbands, Molson, Jim Beam, Fielding Estate Winery and Stageline

Venue: The Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel | Toronto (123 Queen Street West, Toronto)
Date: Saturday May 7, 2016
Doors: 10:00am EST

Tickets for the brunch are available to purchase now online at




International Festival of the Year *presented by Medtech Wristbands
Glastonbury (UK)
Bestival (UK)
Latitude Festival (UK)
T in the Park (UK/Scotland)
Electric Picnic (Ireland)

New Kid on the Block (Best New Festival)
Wayhome Music and Arts Festival (ON – Oro Medonte)
Field Trip Music & Arts Festival (ON – Toronto)
FVDED in the Park (BC – Surrey)
Interstellar Rodeo (AB and MB)
TURF – Toronto Urban Roots Fest (ON – Toronto)

Family Program of the Year
Field Trip Music & Arts Festival (ON – Toronto)
Hillside Festival (ON – Guelph)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (MB – Winnipeg)
Calgary Folk Festival – (AB – Calgary)
Halifax International Busker Festival (NS – Halifax)

Small Festival of the Year (6000 and under)
Hillside Festival (ON – Guelph)
CBC Festival (ON – Toronto)
Interstellar Rodeo (AB and MB)
Evolve Festival (NS – Antigonosh)
Wolf Island Music Festival (ON – Kingston)

Medium Festival of the Year (6001 to 15,000)
Field Trip Music & Arts Festival (ON – Toronto)
Shambhala Music Festival (BS – Salmo River Ranch)
SONiC Boom (AB – Edmonton)
TURF – Toronto Urban Roots Fest (ON –Toronto)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (AB – Winnipeg)

Major Festival of the Year *presented by SiriusXM
Boots & Hearts (ON – Oro Medonte)
Osheaga Music and Arts Festival (QC – Montreal)
RBC Bluesfest (ON – Ottawa)
Squamish Valley Music Festival (BC – Squamish)
Wayhome Music and Arts Festival (ON – Oro Medonte)

Not-for-Profit Festival of the Year
Festival D’ete de Quebec (QC – Quebec City)
Luminato Festival (ON – Toronto)
City Fest (ON – Ottawa)
Vancouver Jazz Festival (BC – Vancouver)
Calgary Folk Festival (AB – Calgary)


Green Operations Festival of the Year *presented by Stageline
Hillside Festival (ON – Guelph)
Osheaga Music and Arts Festival (QC – Montreal)
Piknic Electronik (QC – Montreal)
RBC Bluesfest (ON – Ottawa)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (MB – Winnipeg)

Teamwork Award – Arena of the Year
Air Canada Centre (ON – Toronto)
Bell Centre (QC – Montreal)
Budweiser Gardens (ON – London)
Rexall Place (AB – Edmonton)
Rogers Arena (BC – Vancouver)

Teamwork Award – Soft Seat Theatre/Performing Arts Centre of the Year
Jack Singer Concert Hall (AB – Calgary)
Massey Hall (ON – Toronto)
Orpheum Theatre (BC – Vancouver)
Place Des Arts (QC – Montreal)
Sony Centre for the Performing Arts (ON – Toronto)

Teamwork Award – Major Club of the Year (1000+ cap)
Commodore Ballroom (BC – Vancouver)
Danforth Music Hall (ON – Toronto)
London Music Hall (ON – London)
Metropolis (QC – Montreal)
Phoenix Concert Theatre (ON – Toronto)

Teamwork Award – Medium Club of the Year (300-999 cap)
Horseshoe Tavern (ON – Toronto)
Marquee Beer Market (AB – Calgary)
Corona Theatre (QC – Montreal)
Mod Club (ON – Toronto)
Venue (BC – Vancouver)

Teamwork Award – Small Club of the Year (less than 300)
Carleton Music Bar & Grill (NS – Halifax)
Park Theatre Winnipeg (MB – Winnipeg)
Petit Campus (QC – Montreal)
The Drake Underground (ON – Toronto)
Fox Cabaret (BC – Vancouver)

Agent of the Year (Canada) *presented by Live Nation
Adam Countryman (United Talent Agency)
Jeff Craib (Feldman Agency)
Julien Paquin (Paquin Artists Agency)
Rob Zifarelli (United Talent Agency)
Tom Kemp (Feldman Agency)




Manager of the Year *presented by Air Canada Centre

Joel Carriere (Bedlam Music Management)
Oliver El Khatib (OVO)
Ron Kitchener (RGK Entertainment)
Shauna de Cartier (Six Shooter)
Tony Sal and Amir Esmailian (XO/Sal & Co)


Road Warrior of the Year (Tour Manager)
Dave Gardiner (The Arkells and more)
Donny Cooper (The Sheepdogs and more)
Doug McKendrick (Dean Brody and more)
Karen “Keeks” Weigold (July Talk and more)
Louisa Key (The Tragically Hip and more)

Production Manager of the Year (Festival/Concert) *presented by Access Event Solutions
Dave Fortune (Pemberton Music Festival and more)
Duncan Blair (Evenko – Osheaga and more)
Larry Fitzpatrick (Live Nation)
Lina Beaudin (Nordest)
Vanessa Arscott (Plan V / Wayhome and more)

Canadian Independent Regional Promoter of the Year
Embrace Presents (ON – Toronto)
Blue Skies Turn Black (ON – Montreal)
Collective Concerts (ON – Toronto)
Sonic Concerts (NB/NS)
Timber Concerts (BC – Vancouver)

Canadian Festival Buyer of the Year
Adam Gill / Embrace (ON – Toronto)
Erik Hoffman / Live Nation (BC – Vancouver)
Nick Farkas and Team Evenko / Evenko (QC – Montreal)
Louis Bellavance / Festival D’ete de Quebec (QC – Quebec City)
Mark Monohan / Ottawa Bluesfest (ON – Ottawa)

A/V Production Company of the Year
Christie Lites
KIAN Concert Sound Services Ltd
Solotech Canada
Westbury National

Brand / Music Program of the Year
AMEX Front of the Line
Jim Beam Make History
Molson Canadian #thisislive
Redbull Sound Select
TD Music Access




Breakthrough Touring Artist of the Year
Alessia Cara
Dear Rouge
July Talk
Scott Helman
Tim Hicks

Music City of the Year (International)
Austin, TX (USA)
Berlin, Germany (Germany)
London, England (United Kingdom)
Nashville, TN (USA)
New York, NY (USA)

Music City of the Year (Canadian)



2016 Legends of Live Recipients:  BLUE RODEO

2016 International Agent of the Year:  NEIL WARNOCK, Head of Music Worldwide, United Talent Agency

2016 Licensed to Play Award presented by SOCAN.


Now in it’s 34th year, Canadian Music Week is recognized as one of the premiere entertainment events in North America focusing on the business of music. The Canadian Music Week festival spans 7 nights of performances, with hundreds of showcasing bands at more than 40 live music venues in downtown Toronto. All convention functions take place at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel, 123 Queen Street West, Toronto.


Canadian Music Week © 2024. All Rights Reserved. Designed by:

Go to Top
Subscribe for the Exclusive Updates!