Montreal band Simple Plan will be presented with the Allan Slaight Humanitarian Spirit Award in recognition of their global fundraising efforts and dedication to youth welfare, both individually and through the Simple Plan Foundation.

Members of Simple Plan – Pierre Bouvier, Jeff Stinco, Sebastien Lefebvre, David Desrosiers and Chuck Comeau – launched the Simple Plan Foundation in December 2005 as a means to give back to their community. Aware of the problems and struggles faced by teenagers, both through the connection to their fans and personal experiences, they believed the power of music could work as a tool in recovery, coping and helping to find a passion in life.

Since its auspicious beginning, the Simple Plan Foundation has assisted both young people in need and children facing life-threatening illness, raising and donating over $1 million to various youth-focused charities in Canada and around the world.

Clip to Evernote