2015 Allan Waters Young Broadcaster Award Winner

Saluting Rena Jae, Winner of the Allan Waters Young Broadcaster Award

As part of CMW 2015 festivities, the Friends of Steve Young officially awarded Rena Jae of CITI-FM with the Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year Award in Honour of Steve Young. Rena was unable to collect the award in person but, with the help (?) of her morning co-hosts Wheeler and Philly, has gracefully accepted the award via video.

Rena’s video acceptance

As a key player on CITI-FM’s market-leading morning show, Rena is a fitting flagbearer of Steve Young’s legacy. As part of his storied career in Canada and the U.S., Steve was Program Director of CITI-FM during much of the 80s, when the station spawned some of Canada’s greatest radio talent. Friends of Steve Young was formed with the support of CMW by JJ Johnston and Bob Saint following Steve’s untimely passing in 2008. The Friends gather each year to recognize Canada’s most accomplished broadcasters under the age of 30. The Friends also salute this year’s runners-up: Steve Krysak, CJCY in Medicine Hat and Adam McLaren, XL Country / C103, Moncton.
Clip to Evernote